• search-icon

The Best J.R. Ward Books to Become Obsessed With

Ward's stories of alpha male vampires, foxy fallen angels, and red-hot firefighters will grab your heart and never let go.

J.R. Ward is the reigning queen of paranormal romance—and with her brand-new Firefighters series, she’s given non-vampire readers their own reason to begin an obsession. Ward, who also writes contemporary romance under the name Jessica Bird, is a New York Times bestseller whose books have entranced audiences across the world. Her wildly popular paranormal romance series Black Dagger Brotherhood features 17 beloved titles, with the next entry due November 2019. Her Fallen Angels series takes readers from heaven to hell and back again, leaving fans singing her praises. And now, Ward has brought her remarkable skills to a brand-new series set in the high-stakes (and surprisingly sexy) world of firefighters. Check out the first title in Ward's latest series below, then see more of our picks for the best books by J.R. Ward. Did we forget a Ward book you're obsessed with? Share your favorite title in the comments!

Buy Consumed at Amazon

Consumed

By J.R. Ward

The first book in the brand new Firefighters series, Consumed is a scorcher — in every sense of the word. In her old life, Anne was the best-of-the-best, an elite firefighter who went above and beyond in the name of duty. But one disastrous call to a warehouse fire changed everything. Now, Anne is devastated, desperate, and guilt-ridden, every day in her new career as an arson investigator identical to the last. Her obsession with firefighter Danny McGuire, a bad boy whose personal demons are pushing him to take increasingly dangerous risks on the job, threatens to consume her. Then, Anne begins working on a rash of arsons across the city, and suddenly her new job doesn’t seem so routine. Hot on the trail of a firebug threatening the entire city, Anne and Danny must work together to stop the arsonist before they strike again — and this time, with Anne as the target. 

RELATED: The Best Erotic Fiction Series to Get You in the Mood 

Consumed

By J.R. Ward

Buy Dark Lover  at Amazon

Dark Lover

By J.R. Ward

The first in the Black Dagger Brotherhood series, Dark Lover is the book that started it all, introducing the vampiric society of the Black Dagger Brotherhood. Wrath is the last purebred vampire left standing in the Brotherhood. When a loyal fighter in the Brotherhood is killed, Wrath must look after the deceased fighter’s half-human, half-vampire daughter — who has no idea what her father really was. Wrath wants to help the bewildered Beth Randall understand the brutal new world she’s been thrust into, but their time together is charged in a way neither has ever experienced before. An erotic tension is mounting between Wrath and Beth. But if they give in, it could destroy them both. 

RELATED: Paranormal Romance Books to Give You Chills in All the Right Places 

Dark Lover

By J.R. Ward

Buy Covet at Amazon

Covet

By J.R. Ward

The first in the six-book Fallen Angels series, Covet is a paranormal romance that introduces an unforgettable, unconventional battle between heaven and hell. Forget ‘judge not, that ye be not judged' — assassin-turned-construction-worker Jim Heron has always had an unforgiving attitude towards sin. But he must question his own judgment when he's selected by heaven as a fallen angel. 

Suddenly, Jim is in the business of forgiveness, charged with steering six mortal sinners at the crossroads of heaven and hell towards redemption. And his first case is a doozy. Vin diPietro is a sexist, vain, greedy asshole. Worse, he's a sexist, vain, greedy asshole with an isolating, secret link to the undead that privately tortures him. With the forces of hell hungry for Vin’s soul, he’ll have to rely on the advice of a motorcycle-riding, self-professed 'angel' to save his soul. Along the way, Jim helps Vin open his heart and win the heart of the woman of his dreams. 

Set in the same paranormal universe as the Black Dagger Brotherhood series, Fallen Angels is just as hot and addictive as Ward's benchmark series. 

RELATED: Romance Book Series You Won't Be Able to Put Down 

Covet

By J.R. Ward

Buy Lover Eternal at Amazon

Lover Eternal

By JR Ward

Eternal Lover is the un-missable second Black Dagger Brotherhood book. Of all the vampires in the Black Dagger Brotherhood, Rhage is the most ferocious. His appetites — for violence, and for the pleasures of the flesh—are notorious. But the Brother's infamous barbarity masks inner turmoil. Rhage has been cursed with 200 years of hell; and in moments of conflict, he’s powerless to prevent his inner dragon from destroying everyone he’s close to. 

A human mortal facing a life-threatening secret, Mary doesn’t understand why the terrifying vampire Rhage is watching over her. But now that the aggressive member of the Brotherhood has become her temporary protector, she has to remind herself that the undeniable carnal magnetism between them can’t lead to a happily ever after. Mary's in no place to fall in love. And even if she were, she’s not sure Rhage is capable of a 'normal' relationship. But as their lust blooms into love, the two dare to dream of a new ending for their story. 

RELATED: Werewolf Romance Books to Sink Your Teeth Into  

Lover Eternal

By JR Ward

Buy The Angels' Share  at Amazon

The Angels' Share

By J.R. Ward

The second book in Ward's Bourbon Kings series, The Angels' Share is a Southern romantic thriller full of family drama, illicit trysts, and dangerous secrets. The Bradford family of Kentucky made their fortune in bourbon. But money hasn't been able to buy the members of the Bradford dynasty happiness, and after the apparent suicide of their patriarch, ugly secrets and resentment come to light. 

Edward Bradford, the family's oldest son, is too busy dallying with his horse trainer's daughter to take on the responsibilities of being the man of the family. A bad boy with a debilitating weakness for bourbon, Edward is torn between two women. And when a shocking figure from the Bradfords' past makes a reappearance, the already-reeling family will have to reconsider everything they thought to be true. 

Although The Angels' Share doesn't have supernatural elements, fans of the Black Dagger series will still find lots to love in Edward's wounded alpha male-ness. 

RELATED: 16 Pulse-Pounding Romantic Thriller Books  

The Angels' Share

By J.R. Ward

Buy Love Awakened  at Amazon

Love Awakened

By J.R. Ward

The third Black Dagger Brotherhood book, Love Awakened is a steamy, emotional rollercoaster. Once a blood slave, the Brother Zsadist is still recovering from the abuse he endured. His pain manifests as fury and an unslakable thirst for violence. Savagery is the only way Zsadist can feel in-control; in his agony; he’s isolated himself from mortals and immortals alike. Then, in a single act of mercy, Zsadist’s world changes forever. When he rescues Bella from the Lessening Society — a military organization founded to eradicate vampires — Zsadist’s volcanic fury is transformed into undeniable desire for Bella. But even as the pair explore their attraction to each other, Zsadist’s desire for vengeance against Bella's captors threatens to consume him. 

RELATED: 15 Vampire Romance Books With Serious Bite  

Love Awakened

By J.R. Ward

Buy The Rebel at Amazon

The Rebel

By J.R. Ward

The Rebel is the delicious first book in Ward's contemporary Moorehouse series. Nate Walker could have it all if he'd just take his family's money, but he's too stubborn to compromise his morals for an easy fortune. Instead, Nate renounces the family wealth, a decision which costs him his engagement. Newly-single, Nate heads out on a journey across America, his chef knives his only companion. The plan is to start his own restaurant, but his car has other things in mind. When Nate is stranded in the Adirondacks, he takes refuge at a middle-of-nowhere inn, where he meets Frankie Moorehouse. Nate agrees to be the inn's chef for one summer. Somewhere along the line, he becomes...something to Frankie, too. The plan is always to leave Frankie and the inn when fall comes. But for once in his life, letting go and moving on might not come easily for Nate. 

RELATED: The 7 Alpha Males Rebecca Zanetti Can't Resist 

The Rebel

By J.R. Ward

Buy Lover Revealed  at Amazon

Lover Revealed

By J.R. Ward

Book four in the Black Dagger Brotherhood series shows us more of the world of the Brotherworld through a mortal’s eyes. A former homicide detective, Butch O’Neal has seen so much of the dark side of humanity, little in the vampiric world fazes him. He’s also desperately in love with Marissa, a noble female vampire. To distract himself from his largely unrequited feelings, Butch throws himself into fighting alongside the Brotherhood. When he’s mortally wounded on the field of battle, it’s Marissa who has the power to revive him. 

Lover Revealed

By J.R. Ward

Buy The Beast  at Amazon

The Beast

By J.R. Ward

This emotional, heart-wrenching 14th book in the Black Dagger Brotherhood series follows Rhage and Mary, who were first introduced in Lover Eternal. Rhage has everything he ever wanted — more, even. Before Mary, he could never have conceived of a union as loving, as passionate, as beautiful as what they have. But despite it all, he’s plagued by devastating attacks of anxiety and depression. When Rhage looks inside himself to find the cure, what he discovers will change him and Mary forever. Fans of Rhage and Mary will adore this gripping, sexy chapter of their story. 

RELATED: Erotic Romance Novels That Will Make Your Toes Curl  

The Beast

By J.R. Ward

This post is sponsored by Simon & Schuster. Thank you for supporting our partners, who make it possible for A Love So True to continue publishing the swoon-worthy stories you love. 

Published on 18 Jun 2019

scroll up